The Best Advice.

So I am on day 3 of my 30 day blog challenge, and today’s blog is to be about the best advice you’ve ever received. I’ve received so much amazing advice from friends and family over the years, but the best was after I became a parent.

I remember visiting my mom, and we were talking about how my sisters and I were raised and whatnot. I remember telling her about things I saw friends and people doing on Facebook, and things moms were creating on Pinterest and Etsy. I just kept going on and on about how great these mothers were, and how I wished I could be more like them. How I wished I could be a great mom and wife. She stopped me and said “Sara, you are a great wife and amazing mom, and I’m going to tell you something right now. STOP COMPARING YOURSELF.”

Stop comparing myself? Is that what I was doing? I hadn’t even stoped to think about it.

She said “Comparing yourself to others isn’t going to make you happier or a better mom. It’s only going to make you feel worse. If you’re going to compare yourself to someone, compare yourself to yourself! Always compare your to the person you were last year to the person you are today. That way you know you are bettering yourself, and you are working towards all the things you want in life. This is also a good thing have your children see.”

I never really thought about comparing myself to myself, but once I started doing it, I started seeing just how far I had come over the years, and how I really am a great mom and wife. Not the worlds greatest mom and wife, but a really great mother and wife for my son and husband.

I hope you guys will accept the 30 day blog challenge with me. Please feel free to follow me, or comment with your response, or let me know if you start the challenge on your own blog so I can follow you! Can’t wait to hear about your best advice!!!

Take Care,

Sara

Leave a Reply

