Lead By Example.

I’m sorry if my post offends anyone, but I feel like this is a topic that needs to be out there. I don’t have a problem with people who are overweight. That’s your choice, and it’s totally fine!! But I can’t stand when I see overweight children. It is probably one of my biggest pet peeves. Seriously, just ask my husband. He has to give me a look to remind me to keep my mouth shut. I can’t even begin to tell you how many times we’ve gone to the movies, and I see overweight kids with their own large bucket of popcorn, large soda, and candy. Are you kidding me? Don’t get me wrong, I let my son eat some popcorn and m&ms when we go to the movies, but he gets one of those little kiddie box things. I feel that that is more than enough popcorn for a child. (portion control is key, guys!)  He doesn’t drink soda at all. (He snuck a sip of mine once, and you should have seen his face. Lol) I wouldn’t let him drink it even if he did like it. To me, he’s way too young.

I let him indulge in sweet treats occasionally, but I’ve tought him how to make healthy choices. Parents who just let their kids eat whatever they want aren’t doing their kids any favors. Those poor children are getting bullied at school for being overweight, not to mention all the health problems they’re going to have later in life. Type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, heart disease, liver problems….those are just naming a few. These are all things that can be avoided if we simply lead by example.

Teach your child the importance of a healthy routine. Start off with a healthy breakfast. It’s important to teach your children the significance of having a healthy breakfast every day. Be sure you include fresh fruits and veggies. Remember to keep if fun. You can make things like veggie-egg white omelet, smoothies are a fun and easy way to sneak in fruits and veggies, whole wheat pancakes with fresh fruit, a fruit salad, oatmeal with fruit, or if you have a juicer you could make fresh fruit juices.

Dont forget about fluids! Many children, especially younger ones, are not aware about some of the things that are very important for their growth. As parents, we need to ensure that our kiddos are drinking plenty of water and fluids during the day. Fluids should include fresh juices. If you have older kids in school, be sure to send them a water bottle, and even fresh juice in a bottle that will keep it cold.

It’s never too early for exercise. Children should learn the importance of exercise at a young age. Teach them a few basic exercises that you can do at home together. As they grow up, exercise will become a normal part of their daily routine.

Stop using food as a reward. Ugh! I can’t stand when people do this. There are other ways to reward you children for good behavior. Let them choose the game/movie for your family fun night, let them pick what to have for dinner one night, and let them help you make it. Let them stay up a few minutes longer, or let them pick out two books at bedtime. Give them a few extra minutes of TV or computer time. Get a new game on your phone or iPad and play together. Sometimes just letting them know how proud you are of them is a reward in itself.

Too much sugar. It is important that our kiddos know indulging in foods that are high in sugar is fine once in a while, but they shouldn’t be having them daily. Avoid being too stern. Let your kids enjoy ice cream every now and them, but let them know it’s not okay to be having it everyday.

Hope I didn’t make too many people mad. If it did, that’s a bummer. If this helps at least one parent, then I will be happy. Remember parents, lead by example!

Take Care,

Sara

2 thoughts on “Lead By Example.

  1. Good to know there are still smart and responsible parents out there! I agree, children don’t have the knowledge to make the right choices by themselves yet and ruining their health out of laziness or ignorance is just cruel. One day I hope to be a parent just like you – not overly strict but conscious about what and how much my kids eat.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

